North America Forum

 Forgot password?
 立即注册
Search

We are working to make our Terms of Service agreement easier to read in order to provide you with better services while protecting your personal data. We hope you can spare a few minutes to read the recently updated User Terms of Service. User Terms of Service Privacy Policy
View: 1658| Reply: 28

best setup for PC play

[Copy link]

23

Threads

281

Posts

0

Credits

User

Rank: 1

Credits
0
onyxsablet
User
Posts:281
Joined 2018-12-21
Last Visited 2019-03-06
Post time 2019-1-17 11:45:03 | Show all posts |Read mode
best setup for PC play Reply:28| View:1658
So ... I am experiencing random crashes (rarely) on my GTArcade client (through BlueStacks).

It doesn't happen often, but it is a little frustrating to have to deal with it right when I am in the middle of trying to do something, and it takes a few minutes to re-start the client and get back into the game, if clicking the damn button even works (which it sometimes does NOT).


Is there a better more-stable option for gameplay?

Also, one that doesn't eat my CPU for breakfast?  I have a recent quad-core AMD CPU and a good graphics card.  I play World of Warcraft with no problems at decent resolution and can still browse online for guides and calculators.  How in the hell does a game app take up TWICE the resources of WoW?  While playing, it takes up to 5 minutes to load a page in Firefox! >.<


I have also been experimenting with the various graphics options for the GTArcade client, and it seems that the DirectX doesn't eat as much CPU time, but it has crashed more often than the OpenGL.  Is there any data on this and how well the game generally is supposed to run?

What settings it likes best and what client platform helps it perform best?  With my computer setup, I should be able to run this full time at max res with 10 players displayed and see no issues.  I never had any problem in full raids in WoW, and those were full 24-player groups with effects going off in a 3D environment with high resolution graphics.

Translate

 onyxsablet Last edit in 2019-1-17 11:45:03

 Support

Report
Default Signature
Reply

Use magic Report

34

Threads

1223

Posts

0

Credits

玩家版主

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
0
zett
Jr. Player Moderator
Posts:1223
Joined 2018-12-13
Last Visited 2019-06-02
Post time 2019-1-18 23:31:35 | Show all posts
Hello 6shadow6 and tilt,

I installed BlueStacks standalone last night on my laptop and desktop PC and experience some lag but nothing that isn't really noticeable. I only play games on MEMU and BlueStacks emulator (or through the mini-client), haven't tried any of the other ones that are out there.

You can definitely utilize affinity of processors, but, I try to let my PC do all the leg work after I set the initial settings in the emulator. I have noticed that if I set 1 CPU Core in the emulator, oddly enough, Era of Celestials will not run, but if I set 2 CPU Cores, the game runs and it runs pretty well.

Last note: as this is a Bug&Support section, it seems this has gotten into a General Discussion of emulators. Let's create a topic in General Discussion and discuss this there.

Respectfully,
EOC Mod Zett
Translate
Floor reply (1)
  • Actually, I think this is an issue more for the "support" category ...

    Strangely enough, I am running my Bluestacks emulation using 1 core, 2400MB RAM, and the DirectX graphics ... it seems to not crash quite as often for me.

    I turned off the "advanced graphics mode" beta test thing .... I think that might have been causing a lot of those issues.
    Translate
    2019-1-18 23:35  Reply

 zett Last edit in 2019-1-18 23:31:35

 Support 1

Report
Reply Support 1 Not support 0

Use magic Report

128

Threads

594

Posts

0

Credits

User

Rank: 1

Credits
0
6shadow6
User
Posts:594
Joined 2018-10-1
Last Visited 2020-03-26
Post time 2019-1-17 13:05:21 | Show all posts
onyx it's depend how much ram you have installed on your PC.

for me at the moment i have only 16GB DDR3 in Dual Channel CPU 6 Core AMD FX +8MB L3 Cache

For EoC you can try MEMU Play i use this emu for play at EoC, Kritika and some other games. and all works OK

It's seams the EoC don't have a good optimization, probably they don't have time for that.
Translate
Floor reply (0)

 6shadow6 Last edit in 2019-1-17 13:05:21

 Support

Report
Default Signature
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

34

Threads

1223

Posts

0

Credits

玩家版主

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
0
zett
Jr. Player Moderator
Posts:1223
Joined 2018-12-13
Last Visited 2019-06-02
Post time 2019-1-17 21:15:47 | Show all posts
Hello onyxsablet and 6shadow6,

Virtualization, no matter what program you utilize, will always gobble and eat CPU and GPU. I find myself having less problems when using OpenGL, but my Graphics Card and CPU are always active.

I have an i7-4770k with a 1070 Ti and still experience minor lag within the emulator, whether it be BlueStacks or MEMU. There really is no right way to set it up to get the most optimal experience but as 6shadow6 has suggested, if you allocate or let it use more RAM, the smoother the emulator will run.

I have 24GB DDR4 in my system and I let it utilize 6-10GB alone just when running the emulator, and even then I still experience minor problems.

The mini-client is just using BlueStacks as a backbone. See the recommended specs from BlueStacks website:
OS: Windows 10
You must be an Administrator on your PC.
Processor:  Intel Core i5-680  (passmark 3500) or higher processor with virtualization extensions enabled in the BIOS
Graphics: Intel HD 5200 (passmark 750) or higher
Memory: 6GB or higher
HDD: SSD (or fusion)
storage HDD Space: 40 GB
Internet: Broadband connection to access games, accounts and related content

I hope this helps.

Respectfully,
EOC Mod Zett
Translate
Floor reply (0)

 zett Last edit in 2019-1-17 21:15:47

 Support

Report
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

128

Threads

594

Posts

0

Credits

User

Rank: 1

Credits
0
6shadow6
User
Posts:594
Joined 2018-10-1
Last Visited 2020-03-26
Post time 2019-1-17 21:30:55 | Show all posts
any way best way to is increase Page File on windows like i did when system control this i have only 16GB max for page file i decide change this and i increase this from 16 to 32. 32 as minimum and 32 as maximum.
the next think what i did is setup for emulator all 6 core and like for now all works ok i get sometimes lag in game but this is problem when drop to much items on map. the next problem is slow server. if to much ppl on the same location our ms grow really fast because we send to much request. and then this looks like DDoS attack. server must be really fast ((suggest start using new servers from AMD with AMD Epyc) (And as a server owner i highly recommend this new server machine with AMD Epyc))
Translate
Floor reply (0)

 6shadow6 Last edit in 2019-1-17 21:30:55

 Support

Report
Default Signature
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

34

Threads

1223

Posts

0

Credits

玩家版主

Rank: 7Rank: 7Rank: 7

Credits
0
zett
Jr. Player Moderator
Posts:1223
Joined 2018-12-13
Last Visited 2019-06-02
Post time 2019-1-18 03:26:28 | Show all posts
Hello 6shadow6,

Thanks for that suggestion. I know I've done the intense reading on the page file and how it really works. If you have more than 8GB, you should not utilize the page file performance that Windows offers because it could hinder performance on your machine (as it using Hard Drive space instead of utilizing RAM). However, in some cases, having a page file system is nice as it could add cache to that location rather than using the RAM.

Respectfully,
EOC Mod Zett
Translate
Floor reply (0)

 zett Last edit in 2019-1-18 03:26:28

 Support

Report
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

8

Threads

151

Posts

0

Credits

User

Rank: 1

Credits
0
tilt
User
Posts:151
Joined 2016-4-15
Last Visited 2020-12-21
Post time 2019-1-18 06:06:48 | Show all posts
BlueStacks cant use Multicore-CPUs really..or better saying..it isnt optimized for that.
Same with ram using, 2GB ram is enough for Bluestacks, if you set more they just eat it without things getting better.

Memuplay is better here, it was mainly created for gaming.
Another good one is RemixOS Player, but sadly, they dont get support anymore. A newer one of RemixOS with Android 7 is Phoenix OS.
Another one is Andy, which are now only supports 64bit-machines.

I play at an 5 year old notebook with older i5 CPU and crappy graphic card (Nvidia 840M)...have no problems with BlueStacks, but with any other Emu i cant play any game....permanently 1-5fps
Translate
Floor reply (0)

 tilt Last edit in 2019-1-18 06:06:48

 Support

Report
Default Signature
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

128

Threads

594

Posts

0

Credits

User

Rank: 1

Credits
0
6shadow6
User
Posts:594
Joined 2018-10-1
Last Visited 2020-03-26
Post time 2019-1-18 10:21:00 | Show all posts
tilt you know what affinity is? "affinity of processors" go to task manager then switch to process tab find any exe press select any exe and press RBM and you will see what i mean.
Translate
Floor reply (0)

 6shadow6 Last edit in 2019-1-18 10:21:00

 Support

Report
Default Signature
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

8

Threads

151

Posts

0

Credits

User

Rank: 1

Credits
0
tilt
User
Posts:151
Joined 2016-4-15
Last Visited 2020-12-21
Post time 2019-1-19 05:48:10 | Show all posts
I already know that.
Maybe you dont know, but not every game can good playing with emulation, doesnt matter how strong your machine is.
There are a lot examples of that which are not playable.

This game here have some different problems with emulation....it just eat all your CPU-power for nothing.
Any CPU which is not older as 10 years would normaly sleeping which such games, actually graphic cards too.
The job could easily do any integral Intel graphic card with high setting (the models are very low) with just 1 eye open.
The game isnt realy optimized, also not for playing at tablets/phones.
Translate
Floor reply (0)

 tilt Last edit in 2019-1-19 05:48:10

 Support

Report
Default Signature
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

128

Threads

594

Posts

0

Credits

User

Rank: 1

Credits
0
6shadow6
User
Posts:594
Joined 2018-10-1
Last Visited 2020-03-26
Post time 2019-1-19 14:55:06 | Show all posts
Edited by 6shadow6 at 2019-1-19 06:59

then if you know then change affinity of processors for your emulator and you will see what will happen with any game. if you will setup 1 or 2 core for your emulator this emulator will start work like old 386DX or even older.
Translate
Floor reply (0)

 6shadow6 Last edit in 2019-1-19 14:55:06

 Support

Report
Default Signature
Reply Support Not support

Use magic Report

You have to log in before you can reply Login | Register Now

Points Rules

小黑屋|community.gtarcade.com

2021-1-21 00:11 GMT+8 , Processed in 0.069129 second(s), 53 queries .

Powered by Discuz! X3.2

© 2001-2013 Comsenz Inc.

To Top Return to the list